How Much Does a DWI Cost?

DWI lawyer near me is not a phrase you expected to Google in your senior year of high school. But after getting a DWI last weekend you have no choice. As the many options and names fill your screen, you start to wonder about the cost of a DUI. “Where does the DWI money go?” you ask yourself. “Would I need to dip into my college savings?” As much as you don’t want to read this, the true cost of a DWI could be much higher than you think.

Get Help With Your DWI Now

dui lawyer near meThe Real Cost of a DWI

First Time Offenders May Face:

  • Fines up to $2,000
  • 72 hours to 180 days in jail
  • 90 days to 1-year driver’s license suspension

Second Time Offenders May Face:

  • Fines up to $4,000
  • 30 days to 1 year in jail
  • 180 days to 2 years driver’s license suspension

Third Times May Face:

  • Fines up to $10,000
  • 2 to 10 years in jail
  • 180 days to 2 years driver’s license suspension

You may think the fines listed above are all you have to pay, but as you’ll soon find out, those fines will be the least of your worries. Depending on your case, the fines you pay might be the least expensive part of getting a DUI.

Don’t Wait! Hire a DWI Lawyer Today!

What Other Payments and Fees Are There?dui lawyer near me

There are many other costs that are factored into the true cost of your DWI. They could be:

  • Your Driving Record
  • Blood Alcohol Test
  • Cost of Getting Your Car From the Impound Lot
  • Legal fees
  • Hearing
  • License Reinstatement
  • Auto Insurance
  • DUI Schools
  • Ignition Interlock Device
  • Restitution

Your DWI Fine is Only Part of Your Real DWI Cost.

Your Driving Record

Whether or not this is your first DWI is one of, if not the, biggest factor in deciding your fine amount. As the information above shows, each DWI gets more and more costly. If you’ve gotten a DWI, don’t wait. Contact a DWI lawyer as soon as possible so you can get the help you need. Without getting help your next DUI fine could be $10,000 or more.

Blood Alcohol Test Fine

If you fail the DWI sobriety tests, you will be asked to take a chemical test to get a more accurate reading on your blood alcohol content (BAC). You could refuse this test but in the state of Texas (and many other states as well) this will result in your license being suspended immediately. Without the legal ability to drive, you’ll be forced to get rides from friends, family, or a ride service like Uber.

Possible Blood Test Cost: $500-$1,000.

Possible Uber or Lyft Cost: $7 or more per ride

Cost of Getting Your Car from the Impound Lot

When you’re arrested for a DWI your car might be impounded. If this happens you won’t just be spending money on possible towing fees, but also fees to get your car out of the impound lot. Is this a cost you can afford?

Possible Impound Fees: $300-$500.

Schedule a Consultation

dui lawyer near meLegal Fees

Another large portion of DWI costs goes to who you choose to represent your case. After Googling “DWI lawyer near me” you might be tempted to go with a court-appointed lawyer. There are a few reasons why this might not be the best.

  • First, court-appointed lawyers often so overworked that they don’t have enough time to spend on your case. In fact, according to an episode of Adam Ruins Everything, one Minnesota lawyer had so many cases to deal with that they could only spend 12 minutes with each client. That’s 12 minutes to look over your case and give advice.  No case is simple enough that is can be handled in 12 minutes.
  • Second, a DWI lawyer will have specialized experience in your type of case and know exactly how to handle it.
  • They’ll also sit down with you and explain everything you need to know, what steps you should take, and what’s the best outcome to expect. Hiring a DWI lawyer is the only cost on this list that you can control and shouldn’t skimp on. It will get the best outcome in the long run.

Possible Legal Fees: Depends on the lawyer and their experience.


If you plan to contest your DUI you will have a hearing for your case. The fees associated with this are not as steep as others, but it’s a still cost no one wants to have and could have been avoided.

Possible Hearing Fee: $150 or more.

License Reinstatement

Reinstating your license is not free and may require you to get a restricted driver’s license.

Possible Reinstatement Fee: $120 or more.

Get the Help You Need

dui lawyer near meAuto Insurance

If you’re convicted of a DWI your insurance policy may be canceled. Worse still, not only would your insurance provider tell you this through a form letter you get in the mail, but they could also give you a month or less to find new coverage.

If you think you can get the same policy at the same price you had, think again. What was once an easy $100 monthly payment could be doubled or tripled to $500 a month. This premium price will not go down until your DWI is officially off your record or expunged. 

Possible Auto Insurance Fee: up to $500 a month until the DWI is cleared from your driving record.

DWI Schools

Part of your punishment for getting a DWI may be to attend a DUI school. How long you’ll have to attend depends on how high your BAC was. You will also be expected to pay for any books and other materials used in class. That means you could be spending not only money but time as well. Your plans of going to college and getting a job may be derailed all because of your time spend in DUI school.

Possible DWI School Fee: $300-$500

Learn What’s Best for Your DWI Case

Ignition Interlock Device

If this is not your first DWI conviction you may be asked to ordered to install an Ignition Interlock Device. This device forces drivers to provide a clean breath sample before they can operate the vehicle. If your breath has any hint of alcohol in it, you won’t be able to drive.

There are many costs that come with an IID. The first is the initial installation. The second is any device rental fees. The third cost usually deals with any maintenance the device may require.

Possible IID Fee: $700-$2,000.


There are many costs you may have to pay beyond your DWI fines and they could be in the thousands. The only way to know for sure what these costs are, or if you can avoid them, is to hire a DWI lawyer as soon as you get a DWI. If you don’t hire the right DUI lawyer all the money you saved for college could be gone.

Any damages you did to public and private property is your responsibility to pay. Depending on your case this cost could be small, or around thousands of dollars. The only way to know what this cost could be is to hire an experienced DWI lawyer who can appropriately review your case

Hire the Best DWI Lawyer David Hunter Today!

If you want to know more about “DWI Lawyer near me” or have gotten a DWI in the past, David Hunter can help. David’s extensive experience as a trial lawyer and Texas Judge have given him a unique perspective on the Texas criminal justice system that allows him to provide a top-notch defense to each and every client. He handles DUI cases regularly and knows exactly what to do so you’ll spend less time in court, and jail.

Call (281)-265-1515 or click below to schedule a free consultation and see how David Hunter could help you with your DWI case today!

Where Does DWI Money Go? | The David Hunter Law Firm – Sugar Land, TX