You’ll need the best DUI lawyer to fight for your cause when charged with DWI-related cases.

For many people, driving is a way of life and is essential for their daily activities. Getting a DWI record or having the driver’s license suspended can put a damper on their spirits.

As it states, driving sober is the only way to avoid getting pulled over. But do you know that you can get a DWI even while parked in your car?

There are a lot of other scenarios where you could get arrested for DWI.

Read on below to know how serious a DUI charge can be and how it can affect you.

best dui lawyer

DWI Penaltiesbest dui lawyer

Driving under the influence is illegal in Texas. If you get pulled over on suspicion of DWI, the alcohol levels in your blood show up during the breath test. You might think you had only one drink and it couldn’t be that bad.

However, your BAC levels depend on your gender, weight, age and medical conditions, apart from the number of drinks you had. The BAC legal limit in Texas is 0.8.

The legal limit in Texas is 0.8 BAC.

BAC Levels for Minors

Minors often indulge in drinking because of peer pressure and their desire to fit in. While the BAC limit for adults is 0.8, Texas has a “zero tolerance policy” for underage drinking and driving. That means any amount of alcohol in your system – if you are under 21 – will get you a DWI.

It is a serious offense if a driver under the age of 21 has anything other than 0% BAC.  A minor cannot get a DWI in Texas, but underage DWI is a Class C offense. They could face fines, driver’s license suspension, and juvenile charges.

“Drive sober, stay safe, and avoid getting pulled over.”

Stay Safe with an Ignition Interlock Device

Install an Ignition Interlock Device in your car. You need to blow into this before starting the engine. This switch stops the car from starting if it finds above-limit BAC levels in your system. Read more about this on our blog here.

best dui lawyerDWI Penalties for Adult Drivers

For adults, the penalties depend on various factors. If there is a minor in the car with you, or if there is an open alcohol container, the severity of the punishment increases. There are many cases where the driver got arrested for possession of a controlled substance, like marijuana DWI.

It doesn’t matter if you are using the drugs on your doctor’s prescription; you could still face DUI charges on legal drugs. Furthermore, if you are already facing any felony charges, the severity of your penalties increases. Additionally, if someone gets injured due to your drunk driving, you’ll face other penalties.

best dui lawyer

“To avoid losing your license, schedule a hearing for your license revocation within 15 days of your arrest.”

Depending on whether this is your first, second, or third offense, your penalties could be as follows:

DWI First-Time Offensebest dui lawyer

A Texas DWI first-time offense is a class B misdemeanor, a less serious crime. If your BAC level is over 0.15, then it is a class A misdemeanor. Though a misdemeanor entails smaller fines and lesser jail time, a DWI first offense in Texas can get you up to 180 days in jail.

Your punishment might involve up to $2,000 in fines and 24-100 hours of community service.

Furthermore, you could lose your driver’s license for a year! To keep it, you might need to pay $1,000 to $2,000 annually up to 3 years.

DWI Second-Time Offense

Your second DUI offense will be a class A misdemeanor. It is up to the judge’s discretion to charge you with fines ranging up to $4000 and 1 year of jail time.

Community service could range from 80-200 hours and suspension of driver’s license for up to 2 years as well as the annual retention fee of up to $2,000.

best dui lawyerDWI Third and Subsequent Offenses

These DWI repeat offenses get you felony DWI charges and jail time of 2 to 10 years. Fines could go as high as $10,000 and you might need to perform community service for 160 hour to 600 hours. License suspension and annual fee are almost the same as for second-time offense.

Additional Penalties

When an officer pulls you over, you can refuse field sobriety tests, but not blood or urine tests. In case you do, you could get your license suspended. If you have someone under the age of 15 with you, it comes under felony child endangerment. Moreover, if you get arrested while driving a commercial vehicle, it is a felony DWI charge.

If someone receives severe bodily injuries (intoxication assault) or if there is serious property damage, you might face harsher penalties. Intoxication manslaughter is a second-degree felony, which is when someone dies due to drunk driving.

Hire the Best DWI Lawyer

This could all seem a bit confusing, especially when you are facing DWI charges and time is of the essence.

Did you know that the rate of traffic accidents soar around the holidays? It’s true. The holidays are a time of year when more people are out on the roads, traveling and doing holiday shopping, celebrating, and spending time with friends and family. There are also more DUIs during this time.

“A high rate of drunk driving crashes get registered during the holidays, especially at night.”

The first thing to remember is to avoid getting into such sticky situations altogether. However, once charged with DWI, getting the best DWI lawyer to fight your case is your safest bet. Your lawyer must competent enough to make you feel at ease about what you could face in the DWI trial.

They must be able to get you less severe penalties or convince the judge to reduce your sentence. Many times, a DWI conviction can severely affect your life. A knowledgeable attorney can help you hide the DUI charges from public knowledge and protect your future.

Contact David Hunter for the Best DWI Lawyer in Texas

Sometimes, bad things happen even when you are not accountable. Even if you are guilty, there is no reason why you can’t get a less serious sentence. David Hunter, with his vast knowledge of Texas DWI laws, can fight for you. With his experience as a former Texas judge, he can achieve the best desired result you can hope for.

Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, you can reach David Hunter at (281) 265-1515. Alternatively, schedule a free consultation online by clicking here. Remember, you are not alone.

best dui lawyer

How Serious Is a DWI? | The David Hunter Law Firm – Sugar Land, TX