You meet a friend at a bar after a tough work week. You drink, have a few laughs, then start to part ways. As you stumble to your car your friend says,

“Dude, I don’t think we should be driving. Let me get an Uber.”
“Nah,” You say, “we’re probably not even over the Texas DWI limit. We’ll be fine.” Your friend knows you’re both not fine, but he’s not one to fight it. So you both get in your respective cars and drive. As your friend backs out, you swerve right and crash into him. His bumper is trashed. When the cops come to assess the accident your friend panics.

“We’re going to get a DWI!! I can’t get an DWI!”

“Relax,” you say, “It’s fine. I’ve got like… two DWIs in the last month and nothing happens. You pay a little fine, get to make new friends. Simple as that.” As we’re about to learn, getting a DWI is NEVER simple. In fact, the more you get them the tougher your punishment will be. Read on to learn what could happen with multiple DWIs.

Click Here to Get Help With Your DWI

The Texas DWI limit is only .08 BAC. 

Three Strikestexas dwi limit

“Wait, you’ve gotten two other DWIs recently?” the cop asks. Against better judgment, you nod. “What’s the big deal?” The cop motions for you to come forward you and before your friend can stop it, you both blow a BAC.15 into the breathalyzer, well over the Texas DWI limit of .08 BAC.

Get Help Today!

The more DWIs you receive, the higher your punishments will be.

More DWIs Mean More Punishmenttexas dwi limit

Sitting in the back of the cop car you realize this DWI might get you more than a fine and an overnight in a county jail. And you’d be right.

Depending on your case, the typical punishments for first time DWI offenders are usually get you:

  • A Class B Misdemeanor
  • Fines not to exceed $2,000
  • Possible county jail time of 3 days to 180 days
  • Drivers license suspension of 90 to 365 days

If your BAC is higher than the Texas DWI limit of .08 your fines increase to $4,000 and you’ll get a Class A Misdemeanor.

Fight Your DWI With David Hunter

texas dwi limit The punishments for a second time DWI offender include:

  • A Class A Misdemeanor
  • Fines not to exceed $4,000
  • County jail time of 30 days to 1 year
  • Drivers License suspension of 180 days to 2 years

You may also be given a surcharge of $1,500-$2,000 a year for three years to keep your driver’s license.

As expected, the punishments for a third time DWI offender can be pretty harsh. They include:

  • A 3rd-degree felony which will disqualify you from voting and owning a firearm.
  • Fines not to exceed $10,000
  • 2-10 years in a state-run prison
  • Drivers license suspension of 180 days-2 years

To make matters worse, if your case goes to trial your previous DWIs will be told to the jury. It won’t matter to them what you’re doing to improve your driving, all the jury will think about is how your DWIs are a pattern.

Get Help from DWI Lawyer David Hunter

Don’t drink and drive!

How to Avoid a DWItexas dwi limit

Like the friend the scenario suggested above, it’s ALWAYS smart to get a ride. Here are a few ways to avoid a DWI in the future:

  • If you’re out with friends and feel you’ve had too many, get a ride.
  • If you know in advance that you’re going to catch with friends over a few beers, arrange a ride ahead of time so you don’t worry about it.
  • If your friends are coming over to your place for a few drinks, offer to have them spend the night and suggest the same if they’re hosting you.

What if you’re already out and don’t want to leave your car? There’s an app for that! StearClear is an app that calls up a two-person driving team that will help get you and your car home. Here is how it works. Like Uber, you pull up the StearClear app and ask for a ride. You’ll choose from a map of drivers and they’ll come to you. One driver will take your car and your home while the other driver will follow in their car to pick up the driver who got you home.

The punishments for DWI offenses only get worse. Don’t chance it. If you had a drink, don’t drive!

Hire DWI Lawyer David Hunter Today!

If you have a question about the Texas DWI limit or have gotten a DWI in the past, David Hunter law firm can help. David’s extensive experience as a trial DWI lawyer and Texas Judge have given him a unique perspective on the Texas criminal justice system that allows him to provide a top-notch defense to each and every client. He handles DWI cases regularly and knows exactly what to do so you’ll spend less time in court, and jail.

Call (281)-265-1515 or click below to schedule a free consultation and see how David Hunter could help you with your DWI case today!

What Is The Texas DWI Limit? | The David Hunter Law Firm – Sugar Land, TX