3 Reasons to Hire a DWI Attorney in Fort Bend County TX
Arrested for DWI or DUI in Fort Bend County, TX?
Do you know why hiring a DWI Attorney in Fort Bend County, Texas, can help your case? Sure, simply having a lawyer sounds great, but you’re probably wondering if it’s worth the cost. Truth be told, however, the long term cost of not having a lawyer, or having the wrong lawyer, can actually cost you far more in the long run.
DWI vs DUI in Fort Bend
First things first, let’s talk about the difference between DWI and DUI in Texas. Many people wonder if DWI and DUI the same thing. The terms may seem like they mean the same thing, but do they really?
The difference is actually really simple. It is a matter of age. The term ‘DWI’ (Driving While Intoxicated) is generally reserved for drivers over the legal drinking age of 21. This is the criminal charge for operating a motor vehicle while legally intoxicated. Texas state law defines ‘intoxication’ as having a blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or greater (.04 for commercial drivers).
On the other hand, the term ‘DUI’ (Driving Under the Influence), is the charge given to drivers under the age of 21 with ANY amount of alcohol in their system. (Zero Tolerance Policy)
- DWI = Driving While Intoxicated (Drivers over 21 with BAC .08+)
- DUI = Driving Under the Influence (Drivers under 21 with BAC .01+)
Criminal Punishment for DWI/DUI Conviction
Any talk of DWI in Texas, however, must also include a mention of legal punishment. Almost every twenty minutes in the state of Texas, someone is injured or killed in a car crash involving alcohol. Punishments and fines are intentionally made severe to encourage responsible driving. These punishments increase with each additional conviction. (All information courtesy of Texas Department of Transportation.)
DWI Conviction Punishments (First Offense)
Drivers under 21 found guilty of a DWI for the first time, can look forward to:
- Fine up to $500
- 60-day suspended Drivers License
- 20 – 40 hours community service
- Mandatory ‘Alcohol Awareness’ classes
Drivers 17-21 years old guilty of DWI with a BAC .08 or more, however, can face:
- Fine up to $2000
- 3 – 180 days in jail
- Suspended Drivers License for 90 days to a year
DWI Conviction Punishments (First Time)
Drivers 21+ found guilty of DWI (BAC .08 or more) face:
- Fine up to $2,000
- 3 – 180 days in jail
- Drivers License Loss up to a year
- Annual Fee of $1,000 – $2,000 to retain driver license (for three years)
What to Expect from a DWI Attorney in Fort Bend TX
A good DWI lawyer can help you minimize damages and fines for Driving Under the Influence. Whether you didn’t touch a drop of alcohol, had a single drink, or were well over the drinking limit, the real value of hiring a DWI attorney is worth more than the cost. The consequences of not hiring professional guidance will have a negative impact on your life and those around you.
This, however, is a personal choice. Your right to an attorney is available, but you choose to exercise this right. Often people believe it is too expensive, or there is no hope for their case. Even when you know you are guilty as charged, a professional attorney’s power to negotiate the terms of your rehabilitation is worth some serious consideration.
As a highly reviewed and recommended DWI Attorney in Fort Bend County, David Hunter will take care of you. It is never too late. You should always consider all your options to avoid getting charged or push for a lower sentence. It does not matter the kind of charge you get; we will be there to help you in any way we can.
Here are reasons we can make your life easier after you get a DWI.
Manage the Process Better
When you are arrested for DWI or DUI in Fort Bend county, you have to deal with the courts and the DMV. The process is often confusing and time-consuming. If you are unfamiliar with the process, you could waste hours doing something that will not get you the results you want! In the meantime, you still have to live your life, work, and take care of your family. Don’t waste your time when you can hire a lawyer to make the process manageable. Get a great DWI attorney in Fort Bend that will help you with your charges.
Protect Your Rights
The purpose of a lawyer is to protect your rights. Most people are unaware what they are entitled to. A DWI attorney knows your rights and how to protect them. They take the time to examine your case thoroughly and find any loopholes to defend you. It is better to explore all your choices before giving up and giving in to the courts.
Fighting Multiple Convictions
If this is not your first DWI charge, you need help from a DWI attorney in Fort Bend. The more convictions you have, the higher the consequences. However, a lawyer can try to alleviate the situation in any way they can. They may reduce the sentence, help you avoid jail time, help keep your license, or lower your fine.
Contact Fort Bend DWI Attorney David Hunter Today
Driving while intoxicated is a big deal. The consequences of a conviction may cause emotional, financial, and relationship strains in your life. It could take years before you get your life together again.
David Hunter has previously served as a Judge and former prosecutor in Fort Bend County, TX. He has years of experience, education, and skill in defending the rights of individuals who are accused of drunk driving, juvenile crimes, drug offenses, domestic violence, and other misdemeanors and felonies. He is committed to pursuing justice and puts special care and attention to each case he takes on. For free Consultation contact us online or call the David Hunter Law Firm at 281-265-1515.
3 Reasons to Hire a DWI Attorney Fort Bend County TX | David Hunter Law Firm