Texas Extreme DWI Law May Have You Think Twice about Drunk Driving


With the holiday season in full swing, Austin, Texas police will be sure to enforce the new “Extreme DWI Law”, that went into effect on September 1st, 2011. Before the new DWI law was passed, motorists that were caught driving under the influence of alcohol with a .08 BAC level and above were only charged with a Class B misdemeanor, facing 6 months maximum jail time.

Now if you are charged and arrested for being “extremely drunk”, meaning your blood alcohol content level registers at .15 or higher, you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor with double the fines of up to $4,000, along with a one year maximum jail sentence, if you are convicted of Extreme DWI.

According to Austin police reports, more than half of the drunk drivers that were arrested in 2010 had a blood alcohol content level of .15, at least. Local resident Joe McCarthy approves of the Extreme DWI Law and states “if they are drinking, then they need to call a taxi and have somebody pick up their car later”.

Simply put, “double the legal limit, double the consequences” says Austin Police Cmdr. Jason Dusterhoft. Texas law enforcement officials take DWI very seriously. More than half of the traffic fatalities that took place in Austin of 2010 were the result of driving while intoxicated.

If you or someone you know has been arrested for DWI, contact a Texas DWI defense attorney, at the David Hunter Law Firm to represent you.

Related Posts
  • The BAC Limits in Different States Read More
  • How to Challenge a Dwi Blood Test with a Criminal Defense Attorney Read More
  • Penalties for DWI Read More