DWI and Criminal Lawyer


Call 24/7 (281)265.1515

DWI Penalties

Fort Bend County, TX DWI Penalties

The David Hunter Law Firm represents clients facing all levels of DWI penalties. We handle cases for first through third DWI offenses in Fort Bend County, Texas.

The court will decide the punishment for offenses of Texas DWI laws based on the evidence and circumstances. The court has the power to exercise discretion over sentencing—meaning the difference of 3 years in jail or 7. Contact our experienced DWI defense attorneys as soon as possible using the form on the right. We will help you leverage the evidence in your case and seek all available alternatives that can have a positive impact at sentencing.

Texas DWI Laws

DWI First Offense
The first offense against Texas DWI laws in Sugar Land is considered a Class B misdemeanor according to the Texas penal code. To everyday Texans, it means they face strict DWI penalties and a criminal charge that include:

  • Up to $2,000 in fines
  • 3 days – 6 months jail time
  • 24 – 100 hours of community service

The severity of the punishment is based on the circumstances of your case. For instance, an open container found in your car is punishable by no less than 6 days in jail and may influence how the judge awards the value of fines and hours of community service.

DWI Second Offense
The stakes get higher with the second offense against Texas DWI laws in Fort Bend County. The charge rises to a Class A misdemeanor with heavier DWI penalties:

  • Up to $4,000 in fines
  • 3 days – 1 year in jail
  • 80 – 200 hours of community service
  • 6 months – 2 years driver’s license suspension

Texas courts have recently ordered as a condition of release from jail on bond that all second offenders of Texas’ DWI laws have a deep lung air device installed in their automobiles.

DWI Third Offense
People facing a third offense of Texas DWI laws have moved from a misdemeanor offense to a third degree felony. There is a significant difference in the way the courts handle felonies apparent in the severity of the sentence:

  • Up to $10,000 in fines
  • 2 – 10 years jail time
  • Installation of deep air lung device
  • 160 – 600 hours of community service
  • 6 months – 2 years driver’s license suspension
  • Alcohol rehabilitation programs

Contact our experienced DWI defense attorneys as soon as possible. We will help you leverage the evidence in your case and seek all available alternatives that can have a positive impact at sentencing. Call 281-265-1515 or use the form on the right to speak with a lawyer regarding Texas DWI penalties.

Serving clients in the Fort Bend and Harris County, Texas, areas, including the cities of Sugar Land, Houston, Missouri City, Richmond,
Rosenberg,Stafford, Fulshear, Katy, Needville, Orchard, Simonton, Beasley, Clodine, Fresno, Guy, and Thompsons.
Fort Bend County • Harris County